Awards News

U SPORTS is proud to announce the national campaign for the 2020 Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards Presented by Makadiff SPORTS, honouring the Athletes of the Year for the 2019-20 season.

Celebrating their 28th year, the awards are championed once again by His Honour Doug Mitchell and Her Honour, the Honourable Lois Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

In lieu of a formal awards ceremony at the historic McDougall Centre in Calgary, this year’s campaign will be presented digitally due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The campaign is highlighted by special features on this year’s nominees and former finalists, Their Honours Doug and Lois Mitchell, and members of the Canadian Athletic Foundation trustees – whose vote is combined with public balloting on to determine the winners.

Voting opens on June 12 and closes on June 21, with results announced on June 25 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT.

The 2020 Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards also includes the second annual leadership development seminar, featuring the University of Calgary’s Dr. Cari Din – an Olympic silver medalist in synchronized swimming with a PhD in Leadership Behaviour – who will address the eight finalists in virtual format.

The winners have the opportunity to receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship to attend a graduate level, masters, or doctorate degree at a Canadian university accredited by Universities Canada. All nominees will also receive a commemorative durilium ring from Baron, the Exclusive Provider of championship rings and recognition jewelry of U SPORTS.

Below are the Athletes of the Year from each of the 56 U SPORTS members vying to represent their respective conferences – Canada West (CW), Ontario University Athletics (OUA), Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) and Atlantic University Sport (AUS) – as Lieutenant Governor Athletic Award nominees.  

The eight finalists for the U SPORTS Male and Female Athletes of the Year will be announced on Thursday, May 14.

For the all-time Lieutenant Governor Athletic Award nominees and winners, click here.

All_conf_logos2.png (156 KB)