Awards News

Aboubacar Sissoko of the Montreal Carabins men’s soccer team and Kelsey Wog from the Manitoba Bisons women’s swimming squad were named the winners of the 2020 Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards Presented by Makadiff SPORTS, as U SPORTS Athletes of the Year for the 2019-20 season.

The winners were announced Thursday evening during a virtual awards show on due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

WATCH | Kelsey Wog and Aboubacar Sissoko accept their U SPORTS Athlete of the Year Awards

All eight nominees – one male and one female from each of the four U SPORTS conferences –received a commemorative ring from Baron, the Exclusive Provider of championship rings and recognition jewelry for U SPORTS. Sissoko and Wog also earned a unique custom-made sculptured fossil-stone trophy and will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship to attend a graduate level, masters, or doctorate degree at a Canadian university accredited by Universities Canada.

The prestigious prizes handed out have also been rebranded this year to the Doug and Lois Mitchell Trophies after its champions: His Honour Doug Mitchell and Her Honour, the Honourable Lois Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta. The Jim Thompson Trophy, formerly awarded to the U SPORTS Female Athlete of the Year, will be given to a distinguished alumni of the program beginning in 2021.  

“These awards recognize the essential role that university sports play in shaping Canada’s future leaders,” said Lieutenant Governor Lois Mitchell. “Young people who compete at this elite level develop the integrity, resilience, teamwork and communication skills they need to excel no matter what challenges come their way, and to inspire others to do the same.” 

Formerly known as the Borden Ladner Gervais (BLG) and Howard Mackie Awards, the event is celebrating its 28th year and has been a staple celebration in the national sport community since 1993, recognizing Canada’s top athletes competing in university athletics within U SPORTS.

“These awards recognize the essential role that university sports play in shaping Canada’s future leaders”

Her Honour, the Honourable Lois Mitchell - Lieutenant Governor of Alberta

The winners were selected by a combined vote of the Canadian Athletic Foundation (75 per cent), a not-for-profit board chaired by His Honour Doug Mitchell and the public (25 per cent) on

“It was no easy task to choose this year’s winners from such a strong group of nominees,” said Doug Mitchell. “I would like to thank the trustees of the Canadian Athletic Foundation for their service and outstanding commitment to helping support the athletes develop to their fullest potential.” 

“On behalf of our entire membership, congratulations to both Aboubacar and Kelsey on being named the 2020 U SPORTS Athletes of the Year,” said U SPORTS interim CEO Dick White. “We are proud of your extensive accomplishments on the soccer pitch, in the swimming pool, and in the classroom and look forward to watching you become leaders both in the community and in the next stage of your athletic careers.

“I would also like to thank our partners, Their Honours Doug and Lois Mitchell, for continuing to celebrate our talented student-athletes for nearly three decades. It is a privilege to collaborate with you year after year to recognize excellence in Canadian university athletics.”

For a full list of all-time award winners and nominees click here.

The 2019-20 season concludes on Tuesday, June 30, with the announcement of this year’s U SPORTS Honours Awards and Student Media Awards celebrating leadership and contributions to university sports in Canada.

(U SPORTS Athletes of the Year)

U SPORTS Male Athlete of the Year:
Aboubar Sissoko, Montreal

LGAAmAOTY.png (1.04 MB)

Soccer, Midfielder
Bamako, Mali
5th year
Arts and Sciences


  • CW: Taran Kozun, Hockey, Saskatchewan
  • OUA: David Thomson, Hockey, Toronto
  • RSEQ: Aboubacar Sissoko, Soccer, Montreal (Winner)
  • AUS: Keevan Veinot, Basketball, Dalhousie

U SPORTS Female Athlete of the Year:
Kelsey Wog, Manitoba

LGAAfAOTY.png (1.07 MB)

Swimming, Breastroke Specialist
Winnipeg, Man.
4th Year
Agricultural & Food Sciences


  • CW: Kelsey Wog, Swimming, Manitoba (Winner)
  • OUA: Lucia Stafford, Cross Country / Track and Field, Toronto
  • RSEQ: Fabiola Forteza, Rugby, Laval
  • AUS: Jenna Mae Ellsworth, Basketball, UPEI