Awards News

Legendary women’s field hockey coach Hash Kanjee of the UBC Thunderbirds, former Laurier Golden Hawks Athletic Director Peter Baxter, veteran amateur sports reporter Mike Sawatzky and Windsor Lancers Athletic Director Mike Havey were honoured at the 2022 U SPORTS Conference and Annual Meeting as the winners of the 2022 U SPORTS Honours Awards for their contributions to university sports in Canada. 

Kanjee took home the Jean-Marie de Koninck Coaching Excellence Award, while Baxter was recognized with the Austin-Matthews Award. Sawatzky earned the Fred Sgambati Media Award and Havey was presented with the L.B. “Mike” Pearson Award.

The winners were announced in person at the U SPORTS Annual Awards Reception for the first time since 2019.

For past U SPORTS Honours Award winners, click here.

Jean-Marie de Koninck Coaching Excellence Award: Hash Kanjee, UBC Thunderbirds

HASH_BIL.png (400 KB)

Austin-Matthews Award (Outstanding Contribution): Peter Baxter, Laurier Golden Hawks


Mike_2.png (374 KB)

L.B. “Mike” Pearson Award (Outstanding achievements inside and outside of university sport): Mike Havey, Windsor Lancers