Awards News

U SPORTS proudly announced Thursday the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) finalists for the 2023 Lois and Doug Mitchell U SPORTS Athletes of the Year Awards on May 24 at the McDougall Centre in Calgary.

The OUA male and female Athlete of the Year nominees are Gabriel Mastromatteo (Toronto, men’s swimming) and Sarah Gates (McMaster, women’s basketball).

Mastromatteo and Gates complete the nominees for the 2023 U SPORTS Athletes of the Year awards, with Andrew Peverill (Saint Mary’s), Kendra Woodland (UNB), Jordan Canham (Alberta), Tatum Amy (Mount Royal), Pablo Collin (McGill) and Jessy Lacourse (Laval) having been announced, by conference, earlier this week.

OUA_nominees_melt.png (334 KB)

OUA Nominees

This year's event pays homage to the 30 years of the Awards (formerly known as the Howard Mackie Awards, BLG Awards and Lieutenant Governor Awards) and will also celebrate the life of the program's founder, Doug Mitchell, who passed away last July at 83.  

The winners of the Lois and Doug Mitchell Awards will be selected in a secret ballot vote on May 23 by the Trustees of the Canadian Athletic Foundation, a not-for-profit board founded 31 years ago by Doug Mitchell. The winners will be unveiled the following evening during a reception at McDougall Centre. 

All eight (8) nominees will be in attendance in Calgary, with media availability occurring on May 24

Media wishing to attend the awards ceremony or who would like to request an interview can submit an accreditation and interview request by clicking here