Championships Women’s Soccer

Catherine Proulx scored the only goal and the Montreal Carabins defeated the Cape Breton Capers 1-0 in the gold medal match at the 2017 U SPORTS Women’s Soccer Championship Sunday afternoon at the Subway Soccer South Complex in Winnipeg, Man. 

I’m so proud of the girls and what they accomplished this year, not just for the championship, but for the environment that they created and their belief. It’s the strawberry on top of the cake. They were just such a joy to coach this season.”

Kevin McConnell - Carabins head coach

With the win, the Carabins clinched their first-ever U SPORTS women’s soccer title. 

The Capers dominated possession for most of the first half, but it was Proulx who scored the match’s lone goal in the 43rd minute with an open-play shot from inside the box.

Proulx was subbed out at the half in favour of Carabins forward Emmanuelle Alcindor, the team’s leading-scorer in the regular season.

We told ourselves we could keep our focus, and that’s what we did. We’re just really happy, it’s incredible.

Emmanuelle Alcindor - Carabins forward

Both teams came into the second half with tenacity on defence, limiting scoring chances on each side. The Carabins finished the match with a total eight shots, to the Capers’ nine. 

“Of course, (the Capers) feel terrible right now, but they know they battled and they know they had a great year,” said Capers head coach Stephen “Ness” Timmons. “The sun will shine again tomorrow.”  

Proulx was named player of the game for Montreal, while Tamara Brown was given the honour for Cape Breton.  

Players of the Game:  

  • Montreal: Catherine Proulx
  • Cape Breton: Tamara Brown 

R.W. Pugh Fair Play Award: 

  • Cape Breton Capers

Gunn Baldursson Award (Tournament MVP):  

  • Marie-Ève Bernard O’Breham (Montreal) 

Tournament All-Stars:

  • Marie-Ève Bernard O’Breham (Montreal) 
  • Jenna White (Western)
  • Kathleen Chin (Trinity Western)
  • Rachel Hutchinson (Trinity Western)
  • Alyssa Armstrong (Cape Breton)
  • Ciera Disipio (Cape Breton)
  • Tamara Brown (Cape Breton)
  • Claudia Dubé-Trempe (Montreal)
  • Catherine Proulx (Montreal)
  • Maude Leblanc (Montreal)
  • Emmanuelle Alcindor (Montreal)