Championships Men’s Soccer

Men’s Soccer

Semifinal 1: Carabins upset Thunderbirds to punch ticket to final

U SPORTS Staff

The Montreal Carabins are going to play for the U SPORTS Men’s Soccer Championship, after upsetting the UBC Thunderbirds 2-0 in Friday’s championship semifinal at Hillside Stadium. 

The Thunderbirds pressured the Carabins from the opening kickoff but it was Montreal who drew first blood.

In the 17th minute, Frederic Lajoie-Gravelle received a through ball from Aboubacar Sissoko, then chipped a shot from the top of the box that went over the charging UBC keeper Chad Bush and into the empty net. 

The Carabins carried the 1-0 lead into the second half.

SF1_MTL_VS_UBC_(2).jpeg (117 KB)

Montreal added another goal in the 80th minute as Johnathon Makaya took the ball from Mouad Ouzane and went to the right side of the net and tucked it in for his second marker of the national tournament.

My boys worked really hard. We had the right game plan. UBC is a fantastic soccer program. They are well coached. They are the best of the country. We had the right game plan and stuck to it. They put their heads down and did the work necessary to beat a champion like UBC.

Pat Raimondo - Montreal head coach

UBC head coach Mike Mosher said this loss was a learning experience.

“They came a long ways in the last couple of weeks,” he said. They found out how to grind and battle in Canada West and get results. This is the biggest learning experience for this young group.” 

SF1_MTL_VS_UBC_(1).jpeg (124 KB)

Mosher adds the future looks bright for the Thunderbirds.

We will use this tournament, this playoff run and the season as a learning experience. We are the hosts next year. I anticipate our entire team back. We have a graduating keeper but we hope he still might be back for next year. In terms of our depth and quality, we will be better.

Mike Mosher - UBC head coach

The Carabins will move to Sunday’s championship final at 5 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. PT against the winner of the other semifinal between the host Thompson Rivers WolfPack and Cape Breton Capers. The Thunderbirds will meet the loser of that match for the bronze medal at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT on Sunday. 

Saturday’s lone match is the consolation final which will be an all-OUA affair with the Carleton Ravens meeting the York Lions.  Kickoff on Remembrance Day will be 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT

Players of the Game:

  • UBC: Mackenzie Cole
  • Montreal: Grayg Noireault 

Boxscore

Men’s Soccer

Consolation Semifinal 2: Lions top Citadins to advance to consolation final

U SPORTS Staff