Championships Men’s Soccer

Men’s Soccer

Quarter final 4: Citadins fall 3-0 to Cape Breton

U SPORTS Staff

The Cape Breton Capers proved how dominant an offence they have. The AUS champions opened up the 2017 U SPORTS Respect Group Men’s Soccer Championship with a 3-0 win over the UQAM Citadins, the RESQ finalists 

U SPORTS Second Team and All-Rookie Charlie Waters scored the match’s first goal in the 43rd minute, getting his head on the ball from Max Raab to beat Citadins keeper Valentin Lamoulin. Cape Breton outshot UQAM 14-2 in the first half. 

QF4_CBU_vs_UQAM.jpeg (96 KB)

In the second half, Waters added a second tally in the 66th minute, breaking up a UQAM rush and taking the ball in alone to beat Lamoulin. The Capers added another goal in the 73rd minute when Caelunn Budhoo scored on the short side as he drove in from the right side. 

Cape Breton keeper Ben Jackson got the shutout facing only one shot on goal.

 

I thought we prepared very well for the match. We implemented a game plan which took away their threats very well. We were patient and created good chances and stuck with what we wanted to do.

Dean Morley - U SPORTS Coach of the Year (Cape Breton)

The Capers will meet up the host Thompson Rivers WolfPack in one championship semifinal on Friday at 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT.  The other semifinal has UBC facing the Montreal at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT. 

The Citadins will do battle with York in one consolation semifinal at 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT on Friday. The first match of the day has Carlton facing UNB at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT.

Boxscore

Men’s Soccer

Quarter-final 3: Host Wolfpack win defensive battle to upset York

U SPORTS Staff