Championships Vanier Cup

U-Sports_All-Canadians.png (83 KB)

Québec - The 2021 Scotiabank Vanier Cup finalists Western Mustangs and Saskatchewan Huskies lead the way with 13 football all-stars as U SPORTS announced on Thursday its first and second team All-Canadians during the annual awards show in Québec City.

The Mustangs have the most All-Canadians with eight, including three first teamers, while the Huskies have five, of which four are on the first team.

Western centre Elliot Beamer and receiver Savaughn Magnaye-Jones are first team All-Canadians on offence, while standout Deionte Knight earns a place on the first defensive team.

Uteck Bowl offensive MVP Adam Machart and tackle Noah Zerr join defensive tackle Nathan Cherry and punter David Solie as the Huskies first team All-Canadians.

The top team in Atlantic University Sport football, the StFX X-Men led the conference with three All-Canadians, as guard Che Morales, running back Malcolm Bussey and offensive tackle Gregor MacKellar earned second team offensive team All-Canadian nods. Mount Alison placed a pair of defensive players on the 1st all-star team with half back Daniel Bell and defensive tackle Reece Martin earning honours.

The Dunsmore Cup champion Montréal Carabins and Vanier Cup host Laval Rouge et Or led the RSEQ with with five national all-stars apiece. Laval guard Nicolas Guay and blocker Andy Genois join Montréal’s defensive end Philippe Lemieux-Cardinal and Concordia Stingers rookie receiver Jaylan Greaves as the Québec conferences first-team All-Canadians.

The Scotiabank Vanier Cup, presented by Levio is Saturday at 1 pm ET / 10 am PT on CBC TV and TVA Sports. Live streaming of the match-up between the Saskatchewan Huskies and Western Mustangs is also available on the CBC’s digital platforms (CBC, and the CBC Sports app) and on with a valid subscription.

First team All-Canadians

Marchart.jpeg (172 KB)

Center: Elliot Beamer - Western University (OUA)
Guard: Rodeem Brown - University of Alberta (CW)
Guard: Nicolas Guay - Université Laval (RSEQ)
Receiver: Tyson Philpot - University of Calgary (CW)
Receiver: Jalen Philpot - University of Calgary (CW)
Receiver: Savaughn Magnaye-Jones - Western University (OUA)
Receiver: Jaylan Greaves - Concordia University (RSEQ)
Quarterback: Tre Ford - University of Waterloo (OUA)
Running Back: Adam Machart - University of Saskatchewan (CW)
Running Back: Rasheed Tucker - Queen's University (OUA)
Tackle: Noah Zerr - University of Saskatchewan (CW)
Tackle: Andy Genois - Université Laval (RSEQ)
Corner: Marcel Arruda-Welch - University of Manitoba (CW)
Corner: Siriman-Harrison Bagayogo - University of Guelph (OUA)
Defensive End: Deionte Knight - Western University (OUA)
Defensive End:Philippe Lemieux-Cardinal - Université de Montréal (RSEQ)
Half Back: Daniel Bell - Mount Allison University (AUS)
Half Back: Tyshon Blackburn - University of Alberta (CW)
Line Backer: Nick Thomas - University of Manitoba (CW)
Line Backer: Josiah Schakel - University of Alberta (CW)
Line Backer: A.J. Allen - University of Guelph (OUA)
Free Safety: Daniel Valente - Western University (OUA)
Defensive Tackle: Reece Martin - Mount Allison University (AUS)
Defensive Tackle: Nathan Cherry - University of Saskatchewan (CW)
Special Teams
Kick Returner: Kiondre Smith - University of Guelph (OUA)
Place Kicker: Eric Stranz - University of Guelph (OUA)
Punter: David Solie - University of Saskatchewan (CW)

Second team All-Canadians

Edwards_2.jpeg (1.41 MB)
Center: Connor Berglof - University of Saskatchewan (CW)
Guard: Che Morales - St. Francis Xavier University (AUS)
Guard:Phillip Grohovac - Western University (OUA)
Receiver: Kiondre Smith - University of Guelph (OUA)
Receiver: Kevin Mital - Université Laval (RSEQ)
Receiver: Darius Simmons - McGill University (RSEQ)
Receiver: Hassane Dosso - Université de Montréal (RSEQ)
Quarterback: Olivier Roy - Concordia University (RSEQ)
Running Back: Malcolm Bussey - St. Francis Xavier University (AUS)
Running Back: Keon Edwards - Western University (OUA)
Tackle: Gregor MacKellar - St. Francis Xavier University (AUS)
Tackle: Zach Fry - Western University (OUA)
Corner: Tyrell Ford - University of Waterloo (OUA)
Corner:Ahmadou Boubacar - Concordia University (RSEQ)
Defensive End: Brock Gowanlock - University of Manitoba (CW)
Defensive End: Anthony Federico - Queen's University (OUA)
Half Back: Devynn Cromwell - University of Guelph (OUA)
Half Back: Bruno Lagacé - Université de Montréal (RSEQ)
Line Backer: Alec Poirier - Université Laval (RSEQ)
Line Backer: Michael Brodrique - Université de Montréal (RSEQ)
Line Backer: Benjamin Carré - McGill University (RSEQ)
Free Safety: Jayden Dalke - University of Alberta (CW)
Defensive Tackle: Malcolm Hinds - Western University (OUA)
Defensive Tackle: Jean William Rouleau - Université Laval (RSEQ)
Special Teams
Kick Returner: Justin Julien - Saint Mary's University (AUS)
Place Kicker: Michael Arpin - Université de Montréal (RSEQ)
Punter: Cole Crossett - University of Waterloo (OUA)