Championships Wrestling


Championship recap Day 1: Brock dominates mats


The Brock Badgers are poised to earn their fifth consecutive national title after Day 1 of competition at the 2018 U SPORTS Wrestling Championships.

Both the men’s and women’s Badgers stand on top of the leader board with a combined total of 138 points.

Going into the second day of competition Saturday at the George Leach Centre, Brock has the potential of earning 18 medals, including an impressive 15 gold.

In second for the women and third for the men are the Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas – who swept the Canada West competition earlier in February – with a combined total of 75 points.

Among those going for gold, include Alberta’s Jordan Wong and Samantha Romano of the Badgers, the Canada West and OUA Rookies of the Year, respectively.

For host Algoma, the Thunderbirds look to earn their second U SPORTS medal since joining the conference in 2013. Bryce Davis will go for bronze in the men’s 68-kilogram weight class, in Algoma and Sault Ste. Marie’s first-ever hosting of a U SPORTS championship.

Day 2 begins on Saturday, Feb. 24 at 11:00 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT. Medal matches begin at 12 noon ET / 9 a.m. PT with bronze medal hopefuls first, followed by gold medal matches at 2:00 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT.  

Full results



2018 U SPORTS Wrestling Championships: Brock chasing fifth straight sweep at Algoma