International News

U SPORTS announced Tuesday, the lineup for the upcoming 2024 FISU America women’s soccer tournament, set to unfold in Punta del Este, Uruguay from May 22-June 2.

The Canadian contingent is comprised of 20 student-athletes from the Laval Rouge et Or, who took home bronze at the 2023 U SPORTS Women’s Soccer Championship. Led by head coach, David Desloges, the Rouge et Or are ready to represent Canada on the international stage.

"This is a unique opportunity for the Rouge et Or and especially for our student-athletes to live an simply unforgettable international experience,” said Desloges. “We have a group of talented players. They work so hard on the field and in school. They deserve everything that comes their way.”

In 2022, the Ottawa Gee-Gees steered Canada to gold in Mérida, Mexico with a victory over Brazilian side, UNIP.

This tournament serves as a qualifier for the 2024 FISU University Football World Cup, in which dates and location have yet to be announced.





Méghane Prévost


Florence Thibeault


Emmanuelle Collin


Mégane Darchen


Rosalie Robitaille


Mathilde Rousseau


Emma-Ève Lecompte


Émilie Grondines




Alexie Poirier


Léa Mallais


Mérédith St-Pierre


Elsa Lessard


Catherine Simard


Sarah Lachapelle


Angélique Dumas


Anne-Marie Laroche


Frédérique Lemay


Geneviève Girard


Alexandra Doucet


David Desloges


Pablo Miranda Feitoza


Patricia Lantier

Assistant Coach

Catherine Fortier

Communications Manager

Daphnée Blouin

RK9_3188.jpg (28.63 MB)

David Desloges – Head Coach

Success has been synonymous with David Desloges since his arrival with the Rouge et Or in 2019.

In his fourth season at the helm of the Rouge et Or in 2023-24, David Desloges led his team to a third consecutive podium on the national stage, a feat that had occurred only once in the prestigious history of the program.

During this sequence, the Rouge et Or captured one silver medal and two bronze medals. In the same period, Desloges guided his team to two Quebec conference titles.

Since taking office, the Rouge et Or has boasted a spectacular record of 41 wins, six losses, and nine draws under Desloges' leadership. Relying on a playing style that emphasizes ball control, the Rouge et Or has scored 127 goals since Desloges' arrival, while conceding only 37 times.

These collective successes earned him the title of Coach of the Year in Canada in 2022.

Key Players:

RK9_3658.jpg (30.47 MB)

Elsa Lessard – Milieu de terrain – Midfielder

In her second year as a player, Elsa Lessard quickly became the cornerstone of the Rouge et Or. Named a to the RSEQ first all-star team, Lessard also earned a spot on the second national all-star team as well as on the U SPORTS Championship all-star team. 

Robert_StaceyDSC02881.JPG (5.25 MB)

Léa-Jeanne Fortier  - Milieu de terrain – Midfielder

Named Rookie of the Year in Canada in 2022, Léa-Jeanne Fortier continued her momentum into her second year by scoring seven goals in the regular season, the second highest total in the conference. In two seasons with the Rouge et Or, she has scored 14 goals in 28 matches. 

Robert_StaceyDSC02842.JPG (5.11 MB)

Florence Thibeault – Défenseure – Defense

Florence Thibeault was named Rookie of the Year in Quebec in 2023. Starting as a central defender for virtually every match, Thibeault and her teammates allowed only six goals to their opponents in the regular season. She also contributed two assists.