International News


The countdown is finally over.

With the opening ceremony this evening in Piazza Castello, the 18th edition of the 2022 World University Championship Golf in Turin officially started.

The parade of the 18 international Federations started from the Rectorate of the University of Turin in Via Verdi and reached around 7 p.m. local time at the central Piazza Castello where it was welcomed by institutions and the public.

20220719_180040.jpg (2.50 MB)(Canada’s flag bearers were Sasha Laoun of the University of Montreal and Jacob Armstrong of the University of Fraser Valley)

On the men’s side, Canada’s representatives include Charles-David Trépanier of the University of Laval, who will join Jacob Armstrong and Jackson Jacob of the University of Fraser Valley.

On the women’s side, University of British Columbia, Okanagan golfer Emily Cornwall will unite with Élizabeth Blier and Sasha Laoun of the University of Montreal to round out the Canadian contingent.

The 2022 World University Championship Golf di Torino is officially open!

Starting tomorrow, the competition kicks off with the athletes at the starting hole of the Royal Park I Roveri at La Mandria, headquarters of the Italian clubs and already the stage of four Italian Open and this year of the Italian Open Disabled-Sanofi Genzyme. The renowned golf club will host the Championship, divided into individual and team men’s and women’s categories, which will close on Saturday, July 23, with the awards ceremony on the course and the handover of the flag to Finland during the Final Banquet scheduled on Saturday, July 23.  

Created in 1986 at the behest of Primo Nebiolo, then President of FISU and the University Sports Center of Turin, the top world university golf competition returns to Italy for the fourth time and to Turin for the second, after the 2006 edition, proving that Piedmont is the “land of excellent golfers” and a top golf tourism destination.

Eighteen Federations are participating for a total of 133 athletes and officials: Canada, Belgium, Spain, France, Germany, Hong Kong (China), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Netherlands, South Africa, San Marino, Switzerland, Slovakia and Taipei (China).   

20220719_083747[53].jpg (3.21 MB)