U SPORTS News

Corporate

Top 10 Tuesday: Soccer champs remain on top

U SPORTS Staff

The Alberta Golden Bears (men) and Laval Rouge et Or (women) remain the teams to beat following the second week of the U SPORTS soccer season.

On the men’s side, Ajeej Sakaria and Ajay Khabra each scored twice as Alberta went undefeated over the weekend. The Golden Bears drew Lethbridge 1-1 Saturday before beating Saskatchewan 4-1 at home on Sunday. Alberta visits Fraser Valley on Friday (9 p.m.ET/6 p.m. PT) and UNBC on Sunday (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT).

In women’s action, Marie-Mychèle Métivier and Kim Tremblay found the back of net under 10 minutes apart in the second half, as Laval began defence of its national banner with a 2-0 win at home Friday against Bishop’s. The Rouge et Or host UQTR this Friday (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT).

Note: Due to thunderstorms in Southern Ontario on Monday night, and the late finish of the Windsor/Toronto and Guelph/Western Week 2 football games, the FRC-U SPORTS Football Top 10 will be announced on Wednesday morning, Sept. 6

Top 10 rankings for women’s rugby will begin next Tuesday, Sept. 12.

Top 10 Tuesday Rankings – Sept. 5, 2017

Rank School Season Votes (pts) Previous
1 Alberta (3-0-1) 60 1
2 UQAM (1-0-0) 51 2
3 Guelph (3-0-1) 47 3
4 UBC (3-0-1) 42 5
5 Cape Breton (0-0-0) 33 4
6 Toronto (3-0-1) 30 8
7 Ryerson (3-0-1) 29 9
8 Acadia  (0-0-0) 6 7
9 McMaster (3-1-0) 6 NR
10 Montreal (1-0-0) 6 NR
Other teams receiving votes: Western (5), UQTR (4), Saskatchewan (2), UBC Okanagan (2), Carleton (1), UPEI (1), York (1)

Women's Soccer

Rank School season Votes (pts) Previous
1 Laval (1-0-0) 60 1
2 UOIT (3-0-0) 52  
3 Trinity Western (0-0-0) 44  
4 UBC (0-1-0) 38  
5 Queen's (2-0-0) 34  
6 Montreal (0-0-1) 27  
7 Calgary (0-0-0) 24  
8 Cape Breton (0-0-0) 11  
9 Victoria (1-0-0) 11  
10 Ottawa (3-1-0) 9  
Other teams receiving votes: Acadia (7), Guelph (6), Memorial (3), Alberta (2), Western (2)