U SPORTS announced Tuesday it has appointed a new Board of Directors as part of its 44th Conference and Annual Meeting, held in virtual format from June 8-10.

Joining the Board are Geoff Phillips, Executive Director of Athletics and Recreation at McGill University (RSEQ Director Rep) and Dr. Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor at Ontario Tech University (OUA President Rep).

In addition, the new officers of the Board will include Chair Dr. Joanne MacLean, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Fraser Valley, who previously served as Treasurer, secretary Christine Stapleton, Director of Sports and Recreation at Western University and John Olfert of True North Sports and Entertainment, the Board’s Member at Large, who assumes the role of Treasurer. John Richard, Director of Athletics at the University of New Brunswick will continue as U SPORTS Vice-Chair.

40246167900_2926fa657a_o.jpg (5.45 MB)
Dr. Joanne MacLean

The National Office thanks outgoing members of the Board, including former Chair, Dr. Benoit-Antoine Bacon, President and Vice-Chancellor of Carleton University, and secretary Manon Simard, Executive Director of Athletics at Université de Montréal.

U SPORTS also recognized the winners of the 2021 Honours Awards, Garth Pischke (Jean-Marie de Koninck Coaching Excellence Award), Dr. Bob Boucher (Austin-Matthews Award), David Grossman (Fred Sgambati Media Award) and Donnovan Bennett (L.B. “Mike” Pearson Award) for their contributions to university sport in Canada.

Honours_Awards_Graphic_with_logo.jpg (210 KB)

In addition,10 sports administrators and athletic department staff across the country were honoured for their service to Canadian university sports following their departures over the last year, including Marc Boudreau (Moncton), Kevin Dickie (Acadia), Lori Forbes (Saint Mary’s), Jean-Pierre Hamel (UQAM), Dave Hardy (Saskatchewan), James Keogh (Victoria), Jason Kerswill (Calgary), Paul Krivicky (Montreal), Patrick Nearing (Dalhousie) and Ken Schildroth (MacEwan).

The Annual Meeting also featured the committee report presentations by MacLean (Finance), Carleton’s Dr. Taryn Taylor (Sport Medicine and Research Science), Memorial’s Dr. Karen Murphy (Sport), Joey Sabo of Bishop’s (Eligibility, Athletic Financial Awards), McGill’s Lisen Moore (Equity, Diversity & Inclusion), and Darren Cates of the Royal Military College of Canada (International).

Prior to the Annual Meeting, the membership had the opportunity to attend a virtual conference on June 8 and 9, focusing on a Return to Sport for university athletics across Canada this fall coming out of the COVID-19 pandemic. The conference featured a variety of panelists and speakers, including student-athletes, members, public health officials, industry experts and sport partners.

With the conclusion of the 44th Conference and Annual Meeting, U SPORTS looks forward to the upcoming 2021-22 season, and the unveiling of national championship hosts in the coming days.

Click here the 2020-21 U SPORTS Annual Report celebrating the achievements of the past year.