Special Events BLG Awards

Event Info

The BLG Awards were established in 1993 to recognize the top female and male athletes from universities affiliated with U SPORTS. 

On Monday, May 2, the eight national nominees will be honoured at the Martha Cohen Theatre in Calgary. The female and male winners will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, while all finalists will return home with a commemorative gold ring from Jostens and a watch from Timex, the official suppliers of U SPORTS. 

This year’s event will mark the 25th presentation of the awards gala in Calgary. Over the years, the event has also held been held in Toronto (2009, 2013) and Vancouver (2011). The 2017 ceremony will air nationally later in May on Sportsnet. 

2017 Female BLG Award Nominees
Jim Thompson Trophy: 

AUS: Sarah Bujold, hockey, StFX (Riverview, N.B.)
RSEQ: Arielle Roy-Petitclerc, soccer, Laval (St. Nicolas, Que.)
OUA: Claire Sumner, cross country, Queen’s (Calgary, Alta.)
CWUAA: Danielle Brisebois, volleyball, UBC (Caledon, Ont.)  

2017 Male BLG Award Nominees
Doug Mitchell Trophy: 

AUS: Philippe Maillet, hockey, UNB (Terrebonne, Que.)
RSEQ: Mathieu Betts, football, Laval (Montreal, Que.)
OUA: Jonathan Lao, soccer, York (Unionville, Ont.)
CWUAA: Ryan Sclater, volleyball, Trinity Western (Port Coquitlam, B.C.) 

All-Time BLG Award Nominees and Winners

Media Kit

Resource(s) Type
Media Kit PDF