Men’s Basketball

Men’s Basketball News

Men’s Basketball

Weekend Watch: #ChampSZN is underway

U SPORTS Staff

Women’s Rugby

Acadia set to host U SPORTS Championship

The Acadia Axewomen are set to welcome Canada's top rugby teams at the 2018 U SPORTS rugby championship. The four-day tournament runs until Sunday’s gold medal game 3:30pm ET / 12:30 p.m. PT.

Women’s Field Hockey

York to host U SPORTS Championship

The York Lions will host the Victoria Vikes at Alumni Field in a best-of-three series for the 2018 U SPORTS Women’s Field Hockey Championship.

Men’s Soccer

Battle of Toronto's Best in OUA Final 4

The No. 2 York Lions will meet the No. 5 Ryerson Rams in the OUA semifinals in what will be a more than intriguing matchup. The Lions are one of three undefeated teams in all of U SPORTS this year and are not only on a mission to find themselves in the hunt for a national title, but also a fifth OUA title banner in six years. The Final 4 begins with No.3 and host Carleton facing Western on Friday at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT, with Ryerson vs. Toronto following at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on OUA.TV.

The Canada West and AUS Championship tournaments will also be held this weekend at UBC and Cape Breton respectively, while Montreal faces UQAM for the RSEQ title.

Women’s Soccer

Trinity Western to host CW Final Four

The script is familiar for the No. 6 UBC Thunderbirds women's soccer team, as they head out to No. 1 Trinity Western for the Canada West Final 4 tournament this weekend. This year, UBC lines up against the Prairie Division-topping and No. 5 Calgary Dinos, who have the best record across Canada West in the regular season at 13-1-0. A contender for the national title last season, UBC bowed out at the hands of their Pacific Divisions rival Spartans, who topped the division last year. Jasmin Dhanda was UBC's powerhouse striker but this season it's Danielle Steer. The storylines parallel each other — can UBC get the better outcome this time around? Find out Friday night beginning at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. on CanadaWest.TV.

The OUA and AUS Championship tournaments will also be held this weekend at Western and Cape Breton respectively, while Laval faces UQTR Friday night in the RSEQ semifinal for the right to face Montreal in the final.

Men’s Basketball

Tigers open regular season against the Capers

No. 5 Dalhousie the Dalhousie Tigers will begin their journey to hosting this year’s Men’s Basketball Final 8 when they hit the court this Saturday for their 2018-19 regular season debut. The Tigers will host the unranked Cape Breton Capers, who finished the preseason with a record of 1-4, while Dalhousie went 8-1 in exhibition play, capped off by an 82.39 victory over Laurentian. Catch the action Saturday 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT and Sunday at2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on AUStv.ca.

Women’s basketball

Defending national champion Carleton in action this weekend

The reigning U SPORTS champion Carleton Ravens will raise their national championship banner when they face the Laurier Golden Hawks and Waterloo Warriors this weekend. The Ravens are coming off of a 58-56 comeback win against their crosstown rivals the Ottawa Gee-Gees. Meanwhile, the Golden Hawks and Warriors are both coming off loses, with Waterloo losing 75-33 to McMaster and Laurier falling 68-65 to Western in overtime.

Catch the action at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on Friday and Saturday.

Men’s Hockey

Undefeated Gee-Gees to play RMC and Queen’s

The No. 5 Ottawa Gee-Gees will face off against the RMC Paladins on Friday and the No. 6 Queen’s Gaels on Saturday for the first time this season. The Gee-Gees are coming off a 3-1 win over the Guelph Gryphons to remain undefeated, thanks in part to one of the best goaltending tandems in the league with Anthony Brodeur and Graham Hunt. On the opposing side, the Paladins lost 4-2 to Lakehead, while the Gaels beat both Waterloo and Laurier 6-2. The Gee-Gees’ true to test will be against Queen’s who lead them by one point in the OUA east division.

Catch the games at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT on Friday and 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on Saturday, on OUA.TV.

Women’s hockey

Montreal prepares for nationally-ranked opponents

The undefeated No. 1 Montreal Carabins are gearing up for a pair of crosstown rivals this weekend in the No. 3 Concordia Stingers on Friday and the No. 8 McGill Martlets on Sunday. The Carabins are coming off a 4-1 win against the Carleton Ravens, with Annie Germain scoring a pair of goals. Meanwhile, the Stingers fell to the Martlets 3-0 last weekend.

Puck drop is at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT on Friday here and 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT on Sunday here.

Men’s Basketball

TOP 10 TUESDAY: Carleton, Laval open at No.1 in basketball

U SPORTS Staff