Women’s Field Hockey News

Women’s Field Hockey

2017 U SPORTS Women’s Field Hockey Championship: UBC looking for seventh straight McCrae Cup

U SPORTS Staff

The six-time defending McCrae Cup champion UBC Thunderbirds will try to extend their run atop the national podium this week, when they open up the 2017 U SPORTS Women’s Field Hockey Championship on home field. 

Championship Website 

Chasing their 19th U SPORTS banner, the Thunderbirds will host the OUA champion York Lions in a best-of-three series in a new-look format this season. Hosting the national championship for the seventh time, the series opens Friday at UBC’s Wright Field, with Games 2 and 3 (if necessary), scheduled for Saturday and Sunday. Live-streaming is available on USPORTS.LIVE.

Full championship schedule and previews for each team are available below.

UBC Thunderbirds

 UBC_(2).jpg (153 KB)

  • Playoff finish: Canada West champions
  • Regular season / playoff records: 7-0-1 / no CW playoffs
  • Last U SPORTS championship: 2016
  • Total U SPORTS championships: 18
  • Goal-scoring leader: Margaret Pham and Meghan Hayden, 5
  • Probable starting goalkeeper (record): Rowan Harris (4-0-1) 

UBC went undefeated in 2017, scoring 22 goals while allowing just five to be crowned Canada West champions for the 10th time in the last 11 seasons. Their nation-leading defence is backstopped by Canada West Player of the Year Rowan Harris. In the field the Thunderbirds boast a high-powered offence led by Margaret Pham and Meghan Hayden, who both tallied five goals, the most in the conference.

York Lions

Stirling-1.jpeg (89 KB)

  • Playoff finish: OUA champions
  • Regular season / playoff records: 11-1 / 3-0
  • Last U SPORTS championship: Never
  • Goal-scoring leader: Jaslan Stirling, 19
  • Probable starting goalkeeper (record): Alycia Gray (4-0) 

It was a historic season for the York Lions, who are appearing in their first U SPORTS championship since 2007, after ending an OUA title drought dating back to 1996. The Lions went 11-1 in the regular season, scoring 51 goals while allowing just six in 12 games. In the playoffs, York beat McMaster, three-time defending conference champion Toronto and perennial national contender Guelph – a 3-2 win that avenged their only loss on the year – in the OUA title match.   

OUA co-Most Valuable Player and Rookie of the Year Jaslan Stirling led the way with 19 goals – the most in the nation.

CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

Best-of-three series: UBC vs. York

Thursday, Nov. 2

  • All-Canadian Awards Gala, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT

Game 1: Friday, Nov. 3 – 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT

Game 2: Saturday, Nov. 4 – 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

Game 3: Sunday, Nov. 5 – 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (if necessary)

 

All games streamed at USPORTS.LIVE