Men’s Basketball

Men’s Football News

Men’s Swimming

Weekend Watch: Calgary set to host Canada West Swimming Championships

U SPORTS Staff

The Calgary Dinos will be hosting the 2018 Canada West Swimming Championship starting Friday and running through Sunday. UBC will look to capture its 10th straight women’s and sixth straight men’s team title. However, the Dinos won’t go down without a fight, and are headlined by Robert Hill, who is the CW record holder for the men’s 200-metre backstroke. Watch the competition via CanadaWest.TV, with the first race beginning at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT.

Toronto, Laurentian host OUA divisional championships

The Toronto Varsity Blues will be hosting the top four OUA swim teams in the 2018 Fairweather Division Championship – the Waterloo Warriors, Western Mustangs, and McMaster Marauders. Meanwhile, the Laurentian Voyageurs will host the 2018 deBray Divisional Championship, by welcoming the Guelph Gryphons, Brock Badgers, Queen’s Gaels, Laurier Golden Hawks, York Lions and Carleton Ravens. Both events represent an early test for all schools to get a feel for each other before the OUA Championships in February. Both championships begin Saturday at 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT.

Football

Laval hosts Western in the 54th Vanier Cup Presented by Promutuel Insurance

For the second straight year and the third time in history, the two most decorated programs in Canadian university football annals will battle for U SPORTS supremacy. The stage is set for the 54th Vanier Cup, presented by Promutuel Insurance, Saturday in Quebec City. Kickoff for the national final between the Laval Rouge et Or (11-0) and the defending champion Western Mustangs (11-0) is set for 1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 am PT at TELUS-UL Stadium, which first welcomed the fall classic in 2009 and is now a five-time host venue. Watch the game on Sportnet 360, Sportsnet ONE, and TVA Sports. The game is also available online through Sportsnet NOW and TVASports.ca.

Basketball

Tigers, Huskies battle at 2018 Varsity Showdown

The undefeated No. 5 Saint Mary’s Huskies men’s basketball team will square off against their crosstown rivals in the No. 8-ranked Dalhousie Tigers at the Scotiabank Centre in downtown Halifax Friday – the host venue for the 2019 Men’s Basketball Final 8 in March. This marks the first regular season meeting between the two schools. With Dalhousie having a guaranteed spot in the Final 8 tournament as host for the second time in three seasons, the Huskies will be looking to prove they are also worthy of a spot among the game’s elite, with four players averaging more than 12 points through five games to start the campaign. The women’s teams will also be taking part in the event and meeting for the first time this year, with tip off scheduled for 5:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. PT. The men follow at 7:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. AT. Both games are available on AUStv.ca.

Women’s Hockey

Bisons host Huskies in two game series

The No. 3 Manitoba Bisons will welcome home the No. 9 Saskatchewan Huskies this weekend for a two-game series. The Bison are coming off a disappointing 2-1 loss against the UBC Thunderbirds that broke their seven-game win streak. Meanwhile, the Huskies beat the Mount Royal Cougars 1-0, courtesy of second-year Chloe Smith’s third period goal, to split their two-game series. It will be a tough test for the Huskies as the defending national champion Bisons look to get back to their winning ways. Catch the first game Friday night at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT and the second game on Saturday at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT on CanadaWest.TV.

Men’s Hockey

Golden Bears hit the ice against the Dinos in home-and-home series

The No. 3 Alberta Golden Bears will clash with their conference rivals the No. 6 Calgary Dinos in a home-and-home series starting tonight. The Golden Bears are currently trailing the Dinos in the Canada West standings by just one point, and have a chance to overtake them and the CW-leading and No.2 Saskatchewan Huskies, who lead the Bears by four points. Both teams are currently riding significant winning streaks, with Alberta recording victories in their last five games and Calgary winning their last eight. Puck drop Friday night is at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT and Saturday at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on Canada West TV.

Wrestling

Ontario Senior Championships take place in Hamilton

The Ontario Amateur Wrestling Association (OAWA) will be hosting their 2018 Ontario Senior Championship in Hamilton at Resurrection Catholic secondary school this Sunday. Many OUA wrestlers will be competing in the competition, which begins at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT.

Men’s Football

Calgary QB Sinagra highlights 2018 football award winners and All-Canadians

U SPORTS Staff