Men’s Football News

LONDON The stage is set this Saturday for the 2022 Canada Life Vanier Cup as the Laval Rouge et Or and Saskatchewan Huskies battle on Nov. 26th at Western Alumni Stadium in London, Ont.

Canada Life Vanier Cup 

Saskatchewan Huskies @ Laval Rouge et Or
Saturday, 1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT

The 2022 Canada Life Vanier Cup kicks off at 1 p.m. ET as the Uteck Bowl champion Saskatchewan Huskies (10-1) and the Mitchell Bowl champion Laval Rouge et Or (10-1) face off at Western Alumni Stadium in London, Ont. It’s the 15th matchup between the Canada West and RSEQ conferences (including OQIFC).

The Saskatchewan Huskies beat the STFX X-Men 36-19 last weekend to be named the 2022 Uteck Bowl champions. Huskies quarterback Mason Nyhus (Regina, SK) went 30-38 in the air with two touchdowns.

It was a tight game, as the teams were tied 13-13 midway through the fourth quarter, but the Huskies rallied for 23 points late in the game to seal the win. Huskies running back Ryker Frank (Regina, SK) earned 134 yards on the ground with a touchdown to help Saskatchewan solidify their 10th Vanier Cup appearance, their second straight appearance.

In the Mitchell Bowl, the Laval Rouge et Or rallied past the Western Mustangs, advancing to the 2022 Canada Life Vanier Cup in a 27-20 comeback win.  The Rouge et Or trailed 17-4 at halftime but scored 23 points in the second half to beat the defending Vanier Cup champion on their home soil.

Kalenga Muganda was named offensive player of the game, rushing for 173 yards on 24 carries. On the defensive side of the ball, linebacker Alec Poirier recorded 12 total tackles in the victory. Since making their first Vanier Cup appearance in 1999, the Laval Rouge et Or has never gone more than four years between appearances.

Tale of the Tape

Laval Rouge et Or


Saskatchewan Huskies

12 Vanier Cup Appearances 10


1999, 2003, 2004, 2006,
2008, 2010, 2012, 2013,
2016, 2018

Vanier Cups won


1990, 1996, 1998

RSEQ Most outstanding athlete,
Jeff Russell Trophy:
Kevin Mital, Laval

RSEQ Lineman of the year:
Nathaniel Dumoulin-Duguay, Laval

RSEQ Coach of the year:
Glen Constantin, Laval
Award Nominees

Canada West Player of the Year: 
Mason Nyhus, Saskatchewan

Canada West Rookie of the Year: 
Jack Warrack, Saskatchewan

Russ Jackson award:
Ryker Frank

11 players:
5 offence, 5 defence, 1 special teams

QB: Arnaud Desjardins *

FB: David Dallaire *

REC: Kevin Mital *

G: Nicolas Guay *

T: Nathaniel Dumoulin-Duguay

DE: William Quenneville

DT: Jean-William Rouleau

LB: Alec Poirier

DB : Maxym Lavallée

DB : Christophe Beaulieu

PK : Vincent Blanchard*

Conference All-Stars

* = unanimous

10 players:

5 offence, 3 defence, 2 special teams

QB: Mason Nyhus *

RB: Ryker Frank

REC: Daniel Perry

T: Dayton Black

G: Austin Haas

SLB: John Stoll

CB: Katley Joseph

DB: Charlie Ringland

PK: David Solie*

KR: Ted Kubongo

Glen Constantin
(22nd year, 21st season)

Overall: 201-38 (0.841)

Regular season: 146-25 (0.854)

QUFL/RSEQ Playoffs: 34-8 (0.810)

Bowl games: 12-3 (0.800)

Vanier Cup: 9-2 (0.818)

Became all-time winningest coach
this season, passing Brian Towriss
of Sask. (196 wins)
Head Coach

Scott Flory
(6th year, 5th season)

Overall record: 33-17 (0.660)

Regular season: 24-14 (0.632)

CW Playoffs: 7-1 (0.875)

Bowl games: 2-1(0.667)

Vanier Cup: 0-1 (0.000)

Coached his 50th game last
week at STFX.

Join us this Saturday at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT to catch the 2022 Canada Life Vanier Cup.