Men’s Football News

The head coaches have been named for Saturday’s East-West Bowl, to be held at McMaster University’s Ron Joyce Stadium in Hamilton.

The East Team will be led by Dave “Tuffy” Knight. Tom Flaxman of Queen’s will be the offensive coordinator, Alex Lothian of Carleton will be the defensive coordinator, and Zak Colangelo of Mount Allison will coordinate special teams.

For the West, Gary Jeffries will act as head coach. Joe D’Amore of Toronto will coordinate the offence, with Shomari Williams of UBC coordinating the defence and Nathan Mollard of Calgary overseeing special teams.

In addition, there have been several changes to the team rosters that were previously announced.

For the West, offensive lineman Austin Haas (Saskatchewan) and linebacker Lourenz Bowers-Kane (Western) will not participate.

For the East, running backs Natan Girouard Langlois (Montreal) and Gideone Kremler (SFU) will not participate, nor will receiver Sam Davenport (SFU), offensive linemen Nathaniel Dumoulin-Duguay (Laval) and Jas Khaira (Queen’s), defensive lineman Scott Murray (Guelph), and defensive back Jerrell Cummings (SFU).

There are three additions to the East roster: receiver Jacob Patten and offensive lineman Taylor Burns (both of McMaster) and defensive lineman Josh Campbell (Guelph).

The West prevailed in last year’s game 11-8, to stretch their lead in the series to 12-6 overall. The West has won the past five games, with the last win by the East in 2015.

The game is set to kick off at 4 p.m., and will be webcast via McMaster’s YouTube channel.