Men’s Basketball

Women’s Hockey News

Men’s Basketball

Weekend Watch: Rivalries take centre stage

U SPORTS Staff

Basketball

Brock hosts Ryerson at the Meridian Centre

The No. 2 Ryerson Rams men’s and women’s basketball teams visit the Brock Badgers Saturday at the Meridian Centre, for the annual Paint the Meridian Red event. Both Rams squads have been making a case they are one of the most dominant teams in the country, having spared no opponents en route to 5-0 records, and will have a busload of fans who made the trip to the Niagara Region in enemy territory ready to cheer them on. The Badgers meanwhile are expected to have a capacity crowd behind them on home court and will no doubt be determined to take down their rivals. It will be compelling to see if Brock can bring Ryerson back down to earth. Tip-off on OUA.TV with the women up first goes at 6:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. PT with the men following at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT.

Football

UTECKMITCHELL(main).jpg (791 KB)

Uteck and Mitchell bowls on tap with spots in the Vanier Cup on the line

The stage is set for the U SPORTS football national semifinals on Saturday, when the last four teams still standing will battle for a berth in the 54th Vanier Cup, presented by Promutuel Insurance, on Nov. 24 at TELUS-Université Laval Stadium in Quebec City. The AUS conference champion St. Francis Xavier X-Men (8-2) and the RSEQ titlist Laval Rouge et Or (10-0) kick things off at 12:30 pm ET / 9:30 am PT in the Uteck Bowl at TELUS-UL Stadium. The Mitchell Bowl follows at 4:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm PT, with the Canada West champion Saskatchewan Huskies (7-3) visiting the OUA monarch Western Mustangs (10-0) at TD Stadium in London, Ont.

Both contests will be televised live on Sportsnet 360 and TVA Sports (Mitchell Bowl on TVA Sports 2), with coverage beginning on both networks at 12:00 p.m. ET (9:00 a.m. PT) featuring a 30-minute pre-game show. The doubleheader is also available online through Sportsnet NOW and TVASports.ca.

Hockey

Carleton set to face crosstown rival Ottawa for Colonel By Classic

The Carleton Ravens and No. 4 Ottawa Gee-Gees men’s hockey teams will meet once again at TD Place for the third annual Colonel By Classic on Friday. The Ravens beat the Gee-Gees 6-2 at the inaugural event in the 2016-17 season, with Ottawa taking the second edition 4-3 last year.

The event will also include a women’s game this year for the first time, with the two sides taking to the ice at uOttawa’s Minto Sports Complex in a School Day contest starting at 11:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. PT. The men cap things off at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT at the home of the Ottawa 67s. Catch both games on OUA.TV.

Men's Schedule

Women's Schedule

Women’s Volleyball

Brandon hosts No. 1 Calgary in two-game series

The Brandon Bobcats welcome the undefeated No.1 Calgary Dinos this weekend. Brandon is coming off a series split against Mount Royal, with each team winning 3-1, while the Dinos swept Saskatchewan with 3-0 and 3-2 victories to maintain their top ranking. Catch the first game Friday 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT and the second one Saturday at 6:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. PT on CanadaWest.TV.

Men’s Volleyball

UNB.jpg (149 KB)

No. 1 Rouge et Or battle Reds

The top-ranked Laval Rouge et Or go up against the UNB Reds in Fredericton, N.B., this weekend. The Reds are coming off a pair of narrow 3-2 losses to the Dalhousie Tigers, while the Rouge et Or are undefeated on the season after a 3-2 win against the Montreal Carabins. First serve flies Friday night at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT, and again Saturday at 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m PT.

Women’s Hockey

TOP 10 TUESDAY: Reigning champion UBC opens at No.1 in swimming

U SPORTS Staff

(Credit: Rich Lam / UBC Thunderbirds)