Men’s Hockey News

Corporate

Weekend Watch: Trio of national championships underway as Winter #CHAMPSZN continues

U SPORTS Staff

Credit: Christian Bender

Week 2 of the Winter #CHAMPSZN has kicked off, with the Men’s Basketball Final 8 in Halifax hosted by Dalhousie, the Women’s Basketball Final 8 Presented by COMDA.COM in Toronto hosted by Ryerson, and the Track and Field Championships Presented by Beynon Sports in Winnipeg hosted by Manitoba.  

The semifinals and championship games of both basketball tournaments will be televised by Sportsnet 360 and TVA Sports, and livestreamed on Sportsnet Now. All remaining games in both events, along with the Track and Field Championships are livestreamed on USPORTS.LIVE (separate subscription required).

Be sure to also follow all the coverage on Twitter @USPORTS_Bball and @USPORTSTF

Hockey

Final spots, national seeding on the line in OUA medal games

The U SPORTS hockey conference playoffs wrap up this weekend with three important medal games. On Friday, the No. 8 Carleton men host Western in a one-game playoff at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT for bronze to decide the eighth and final spot at the University Cup in Lethbridge. Then on Saturday, No. 5 Guelph visits No. 6 Queen’s at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT for the OUA Queen’s Cup championship. Both teams have combined for only three losses in the playoffs, so it looks to be an exciting matchup in Kingston, Ont.

The No. 4 Gryphons women will also be looking to clinch the conference title when they host the No.8 Toronto Varsity Blues on Saturday at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT for the McCaw Cup. Both teams have already secured their spot at the national championship hosted by UPEI in Charlottetown, but the winner will likely have a higher seeding heading into the tournament.

Volleyball

Trinity Western eyes CW volleyball titles against Brandon, Calgary

The men’s and women’s volleyball playoffs also wrap up this weekend with several key games.

Out west, the No. 2 Trinity Western Spartans men look to take down the top-ranked Brandon Bobcats for their fourth straight CW title, while No.6 Spartans women go for conference gold as well against the No. 2-ranked Calgary Dinos. First serve for both games flies on Friday night at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT.

In Ontario, the OUA Final 4 tournaments are all set, with the men featuring No. 5 McMaster, No. 10 Windsor, Toronto, and Queen’s, while the women’s side involves Western, No. 4 Waterloo, No. 8 Toronto, and defending national champion Ryerson, who are the top-ranked team in the nation. The semifinals are scheduled for Saturday, where the winners will book their spot in the national tournaments in Quebec City (hosted by Laval) and Edmonton (hosted by Alberta) next week. The medal games follow on Sunday.

In Quebec, the RSEQ best-of-three championship series go this weekend between unranked Montreal and No. 3 Laval on the men’s side, while women’s matchup sees No. 9 Montreal taking on No. 5 McGill. Games 1 and 2 will be held Friday and Saturday respectively, with Game 3s if necessary on Sunday.

Men’s Full Schedule

Women’s Full Schedule

Watch all the conference playoff action on CanadaWest.TV, OUA.TV and AUStv.ca. RSEQ teams stream their games independently – check your school’s listings

International

2019 FISU Winter Universiade continues with dominance from Team Canada

The action continues oversees in Krasnoyarsk, Russia where Canada looks to capture curling gold this weekend before the World University Games wrap up Tuesday. Both the men’s and women’s rinks are setting their eyes on gold in Sunday’s medal round, having clinched playoff berths recently.

Also on the ice, the men’s hockey team beat Sweden 11-1, while the women’s hockey squad were defeated by Russia 4-2 Friday. They’ll play Japan in the semifinal Saturday, March 9th at 7:30 a.m. ET / 4:30 a.m. PT. The men’s team wraps up pool play at 4 a.m. ET / 1 a.m. PT on Saturday against Kazakshstan and will look to secure its spot in the semifinals on Monday.

Follow Team Canada on TwitterInstagram and Facebook @USPORTSIntl, or visit USPORTS.ca for full coverage. Livestreaming is available on FISU.TV.