Men’s Basketball

Men’s Soccer News

Men’s Soccer

Weekend Watch: No. 1 Ottawa to face No. 2 StFX in Rowan’s Legacy exhibition game

U SPORTS Correspondents / Correspondants U SPORTS

Women’s Rugby

National rugby leaders battle it out on the field for a good cause

The top two nationally ranked rugby teams, the defending U SPORTS champion Ottawa Gee-Gees and 2016 national champion StFX X-Women will play each other twice Friday night at Matt Anthony field in Ottawa. It’s the second edition of the Rowan’s Legacy series which raises awareness and funds for brain trauma research, treatment, and prevention in athletes. This series honours rugby player Rowan Stringer, who passed way in 2013 due to undiagnosed concussions. Going into this series both teams are undefeated, a statistic that will change Saturday evening. The Gee-Gees won last year’s series so, the X-Women will definitely be looking for revenge. The games are scheduled for:

  • 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT and 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT.

Men’s Soccer

OUA powerhouses clash in foreshadowed OUA championship matchup

The No. 5 Ryerson Rams head east to Ottawa this weekend to take on the No. 6 Carleton Ravens at MNP Park. Saturday’s matchup marks the second and final time the OUA’s top two clubs will play this season, after drawing in their first meeting. With only a handful of games remaining and Carleton just three points behind Ryerson – with a game in hand – this contest will have major implications in the OUA standings. A win for either team would strengthen their standing in the U SPORTS Top 10. Ryerson’s Abdallah El-Chanti and Carleton’s Jimi Aribido are tied for fifth in the nation with 10 points each, with El-Chanti’s 10 goals also placing him second in the country. You can watch the game:

  • Saturday at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT on OUA.TV

Women’s Soccer

Legends Cup continues as No. 6 UBC goes up against Victoria

The No. 6-ranked UBC women's soccer face the UVic Vikes on Friday evening in their second meeting of the season and both team's final chance at securing points in the new Legends Cup series. This series is played by six varsity teams and has cemented the rivalry between the two schools. UBC is on a four-game winning streak, including a 7-0 blowout of the UNBC Timberwolves, while UVic is coming off a 1-1 tie against UNBC. In the teams’ first meeting in August, UBC scraped by with a 1-0 win to open the season. Catch the action on:

Cross Country

No. 4 Laval and StFX race at AUS-RSEQ Interlocking meet

UNB will play host on Saturday to the AUS and neighboring conference RSEQ in Fredericton's Odell Park for a cross-conference interlock showdown featuring the top runners of Eastern Canada. The StFX X-Men are coming off two exhibition conference team wins, but Jean-Simon Desgagnés plans to lead the No.4 the Laval Rouge et Or, to their seventh consecutive interlock victory. Aurélie Dubé-Lavoie is also expected to lead the No.3 Rouge et Or women to victory over a red hot X-Women team. Savanna Jordan and Michelle Reddy of Dalhousie will challenge Dubé-Lavoie and Laval's Catherine Beauchemin for the individual title. The women’s race begins at:

  • 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT, followed by the men’s race at 11:45 a.m. ET / 8:45 a.m. PT.

Women’s Hockey

Defending champions Manitoba open season against Calgary

Fresh off their first national championship in program history, the Manitoba Bisons women’s hockey team open their 2018-19 season against the Calgary Dinos this weekend. Despite reigning U SPORTS Women's Hockey Coach of the Year Jon Rempel taking a leave of absence, this year’s roster is almost a carbon-copy of the champion team. With 21 out of the 24 players returning, this talented team will look to make an impact early on in the game and the season. On the other hand, the Dinos will be fired up for this series, as the Bisons cut their 2017-18 season short, robbing them of a playoff berth. With both teams having something to prove in this series, this is the perfect game to start off the women’s hockey season. Puck drop is at:

  • 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT Friday night and 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT on Saturday

Men’s Hockey

McGill begins defence of OUA title

The McGill Redmen open up their OUA Queen’s Cup defence at home against division rival Queen's. The two schools placed first and second respectively in the OUA East last season, with Queens only five points back. Last season, McGill swept the two-game season series between the two sides. Even though it's early in the year, it'll be important yet tough for Queen’s to go into McGill and walk out with a tone setting win.

Men’s Soccer

Athletes of the Week: Alberta’s Ongaro, McGill’s Dargis honoured

U SPORTS Staff