Men’s Volleyball News

Women’s Hockey

Weekend Watch: UBC set to host fifth annual Winter Classic

U SPORTS Staff

The UBC Thunderbirds men’s hockey team are set to host the fifth annual Winter Classic Friday night against the No. 7 Calgary Dinos at the Doug Mitchell Thunderbird Sports Centre. Calgary will look continue their three-game win streak, while the thunderbirds look to get back on track and snap their recent four-game slide. With a sellout crowd of over 5,500 fans in back to back years, the Thunderbirds will certainly have home ice advantage on their side in front of a excited crowd. The puck drops Friday night at 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT on CanadaWest TV

A couple of other notable games are also on tap this weekend.

The No. 10 Ryerson Rams host the York Lions in the second annual Subway Series / Winter Homecoming game at Mattamy Athletic Centre beginning at 2:15 p.m. ET / 11:15 a.m. PT on OUA.TV. And the RMC Paladins will look to continue the longest international hockey rivalry when they travel to West Point, N.Y., for a military clash with their cross-border rivals in the Army Black Knights. The 83rd Challenge Cup exhibition contest will highlight the shared service of both the Paladins and Black Knights players to their respective countries. Puck drops Saturday night at 7:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. PT here.

Full schedule

Women's Hockey

U SPORTS alumni suit up in CWHL All-Star Game

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) is set to take the stage on Sunday with 2019 All-Star Game at Scotiabank Arena in Toronto. A total 34 All-Stars players will suit up in the fourth annual showcase with fans voting Calgary Inferno and former Manitoba Bison defender Brigette Lacquette, along with Markham Thunder / ex-Laurier Golden Hawks goaltender Liz Knox as captains. Knox captured U SPORTS Player of the Year honours in 2010, while Lacquette earned a silver medal with the Canadian Olympic Team as its first-ever First Nations player, in PyeongChang last February. 2012 BLG Award winner Ann-Sophie Bettez – now a star with Les Canadiennes de Montreal – will also take part.

The action begins at 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet Now.

Full U SPORTS schedule

Natalie Spooner's 5 reasons CWHL All-Star Game is a must-watch - Sportsnet.ca

Toronto Furies star Natalie Spooner will be one of 34 players - including 20 Olympians - lacing it up in the CWHL All-Star Game. The two-time Olympic medallist broke down five reasons the All-Star Game will be a must-watch affair.

Basketball

Red-hot Rams host Final 8 kickoff against northern foes

The No. 3 Ryerson Rams women’s basketball team will look to continue their successful season with this weekend’s home matchups against the Laurentian Voyageurs on Friday and the Nipissing Lakers on Saturday at the Mattamy Athletic Centre. Friday’s game will mark the formal kickoff towards the Women’s Basketball Final 8 National Championship. Rams forward Sofia Paska has been an offensive thread, scoring in double digits since returning from the holiday break, and is average 8.1 rebounds per game this season.

Tip-off of the women’s games are scheduled for 6:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. PT Friday and Saturday, followed by the men’s contests at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT.  All four games can be seen live on OUA.TV.

Men’s Schedule

Women’s Schedule

Volleyball

Calgary hosts Alberta in Top 10 duels

The Calgary Dinos will welcome the Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas for a quartet of Top 10 confrontations on Friday and Saturday.

On the men’s side, the No. 9 Dinos, fresh off four straight 3-0 sweeps to improve back to .500, will look to upset the No. 6 Golden Bears who sit at 11-3 on the season. The women’s series promises to be a battle of the elite, with No.2 Calgary sitting at 14-2 on the year and No. 5 Alberta at 12-4. Friday’s action begins at 8:00 p.m. ET  / 5:00 p.m. PT while Saturday’s first serve goes at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT on CanadaWest.TV

Men’s Schedule

Women’s Schedule

Track and Field

Alberta hosts Golden Bear open

Canada West’s top track and field teams are set to clash inside the University of Alberta's famed Butterdome this weekend.

The No. 3 Saskatchewan Huskies will be the team to beat on the women's side, while last year's silver medal-winning Golden Bears team will attempt to deliver a strong performance at home. Huskies Julianne Labach and Michelle Harrison, respectively the nation's top 1000m runner and 60m hurdler, are on the start list. Golden Bear high jumper Wesley Calef will look to maintain his U SPORTS top rank, and Regina's 1000m ringer Greg Hetterley will take on U SPORTS cross-country bronze medalist Russell Pennock in a heated 1500m race.

The events begin on Friday at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT on Yare TV.

Other track and field meets this weekend include a trio of meets in the OUA, with Western hosting the Don Wright Invitational, Toronto hosting its Fred Foote Meet along with the Gee-Gees’ Ottawa Winter Invitational. Out east, AUS teams will head to the Athletics Nova Scotia Open in Halifax.

Curling

The Brock Badgers will host the annual Brock Invitational bonspiel this weekend taking place at the St. Catharine's Golf and Country Club. Last year, 14 university and college women's teams, along with 15 men's teams took part in the three-game round-robin tournament. The action begins on Saturday morning at 8:00 a.m. ET.