Awards News

CALGARY (U SPORTS) – Sarah Gates, a basketball player from McMaster University, and Gabriel Mastromatteo, a swimmer from the University of Toronto, are the Lois and Doug Mitchell Award winners as the U SPORTS Female and Male Athletes of the Year for the 2022-23 season. 

The laureates were announced Wednesday night at the McDougall Centre in Calgary. The awards program celebrated its 30th edition at this year’s event, dating back to the launch of the Howard Mackie Awards in 1993. 

All eight nominees – one female and male athlete from each of the four U SPORTS conferences - received a commemorative gold ring from Baron, the exclusive supplier of commemorative jewellery for U SPORTS. Gates and Mastromatteo were also presented with a trophy and a $5,000 scholarship to attend a Canadian university graduate school. 

The winners were selected by the Canadian Athletic Foundation, a not-for-profit board established to administer the Awards and protect the integrity of the selection process.  

“We are so proud of the eight nominees this year. They are exceptional student-athletes and citizens,” said The Hon. Lois Mitchell. “Sarah and Gabe had outstanding seasons and are excellent recipients of the Lois and Doug Mitchell Awards.” 

“On behalf of U SPORTS, I wish to congratulate Sarah and Gabe on being named the recipients of the Lois and Doug Mitchell Awards,” said Pierre Arsenault, U SPORTS CEO. “We had an exceptional group of nominees this year, with seven Academic All-Canadians and five most outstanding athletes of the year winners in their respective sports. To be recognized like this is a wonderful accomplishment for Sarah and Gabe.” 

USports_AotY23_winners_individual_16x9_OUA_SarahGates_V03.jpg (1.33 MB)

Gates, who hails from Newmarket, Ont., and is in her fifth and final year of U SPORTS eligibility, took home the Lois Mitchell Trophy, presented annually to the female winner, and is the first McMaster Marauder to take home female athlete-of-the-year honours. 

USports_AotY23_winners_individual_16x9_OUA_GabrielMastromatteo_V03.jpg (1.42 MB)

Mastromatteo, who just completed his second year of U SPORTS eligibility, returns home with the Doug Mitchell Trophy. The Kenora, Ont., product is the first male athlete from U of T to win national athlete-of-the-year honours. 

This is the second straight year, and the fifth time overall, that OUA representatives have won both awards. 

The other female finalists for this season were UNB hockey player Kendra Woodland of Kamloops, B.C.; Laval cross country and track & field runner Jessy Lacourse of Quebec City; and Mount Royal hockey player Tatum Amy of Birtle, Man. 

The other male nominees were Saint Mary’s cross country and track & field runner Andrew Peverill of Lower Sackville, N.S.; McGill swimmer Pablo Collin of Marseille, France; and Alberta volleyball player Jordan Canham of Avonmore, Ont.