Awards U SPORTS Honours

U SPORTS Honours

Celebrating leadership and passion for university sport.

At the U SPORTS Conference and Annual Meeting, four award recipients are honoured for their exemplary leadership skills and passion for university sport.

Latest news

Coaching Excellence

Jean-Marie de Koninck Coaching Excellence Award 

Honours since 2007 an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to university sport as demonstrated by long-term commitment and leadership as a coach at the local, provincial, national and/or international levels.

The award is named for the former swimming coach and long-time math professor at Laval University, who also served as a swimming commentator for Radio Canada at several Olympic Games.  


  • 2017 Olga Hrycak (UQAM - men's basketball)
  • 2016 Peter Campbell (Wilfrid Laurier - men's basketball) 
  • 2015 Gardiner MacDougall (UNB - men’s hockey)
  • 2014 Clare Drake (Alberta - men’s hockey & football)
  • 2013 Sonny Wolfe (McGill & Acadia - football)
  • 2012 Bob Bain (York & Alberta - men’s basketball)
  • 2011 Kathy Shields (Victoria - women’s basketball) *
  • 2011 Dick Mosher (UBC - men’s & women’s soccer) *
  • 2010 Steve Konchalski (St. Francis Xavier - men’s basketball)
  • 2009 Larry Haylor (Western Ontario - football)
  • 2008 Lou Pero (Lakehead - men’s basketball)
  • 2007 Linda Marquis (Laval - women’s basketball)

* co-recipients