Awards Sport Awards

Sport Awards

In the national spotlight

Each year, U SPORTS honours the major award winners of the season prior to, or following the national championship in each sport.


Championship MVP

The Championship MVP Award is given to the most outstanding player during the championship.

Please click below to download the list of recipients.

(If Applicable)
Men's Basketball

Jack Donohue Trophy

The Jack Donohue Trophy is presented to the Most Valuable Player of the U SPORTS Final 8.

The award honours the former head coach of the Canadian national team (1972-88), who was behind the bench for four Olympic Games, including Montreal 1976. Donohue also served as head coach of Team Canada at the 1983 Summer Universiade, where the team won gold on home soil.

Donohue has been inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame, and the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame.
Women's Basketball N/A The Championship MVP Award is given to the most outstanding player during the Final 8 tournament.   PDF
Women's Field Hockey N/A The award is presented to the player who scores the most points during the U SPORTS championship, among players selected on the tournament All-Star Team. PDF
Football Ted Morris Memorial Trophy In 1965, the year the Canadian College Bowl was organized, football lost one of its most formidable members with the passing of Ted Morris. A former Toronto Argonaut player and coach, he championed the cause of the development of young Canadians to further their football careers. The Canadian College Bowl was honoured when Mrs. Morris granted permission to create the Ted Morris Memorial Trophy to be awarded to the outstanding player in the Vanier Cup. PDF
Bruce Coulter Award Presented to either an outstanding offensive or defensive player in the Vanier Cup Game, the selection is dependent on the selection of the Ted Morris Trophy, winner of the game MVP.

This award, is named after Bruce Coulter, Head Football Coach at both McGill and Bishop's Universities and Director of Athletics at Bishop's for 30 years. The award is appropriately designated since Coulter was both a Defensive Back and Quarterback with the Montréal Alouettes in the 1950s.
Men's Hockey Major W.J. ‘Danny’
McLeod Award
The University Cup MVP honours Major W.J. ‘Danny’ McLeod, former athletic director of the Royal Military College of Canada (RMC) and a driving force in the creation of the Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (CIAU), now known as U SPORTS. Major McLeod was the organization’s founding secretary-treasurer and successfully presented CIAU’s application to join the International University Sports Federation (FISU).

He was also a major contributor in hockey circles, organizing the first University Cup in 1963, served as the head coach of RMC, in addition to the Kingston Frontenacs and the Senior A Kingston Aces simultaneously. Following his retirement from RMC, Major McLeod joined the NHL as supervisor of officials, training all referees for the 1972 Summit Series.

The selection is made by members of the U SPORTS Men’s Hockey Coaches Association.
Women's Hockey N/A The Selection Committee is composed of members of the U SPORTS Women's Hockey Coaches Association in attendance at the championship. PDF
Rugby N/A Presented annually at the National Championship to the Most Valuable Player at the Tournament. PDF
Men's Soccer N/A The award is presented annually at the National Championship. The selection is made by a Committee established by the Host. PDF
Women's Soccer Gunn Baldursson
Memorial Award
The Gladys Bean Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the U SPORTS Women's Soccer Champions. The award is in honour of Miss Gladys Bean a pioneer for women in sport in Quebec and Canada and a staff member of McGill University for 40 years, where she served as assistant director of athletics and as physical education instructor. Bean also served as a CIAU delegate and a representative to the CIAU's women's athletics committee.

The trophy was donated jointly by the RSEQ and McGill University.
Track and Field Athlete of the Meet The outstanding athlete of the U SPORTS Championships is awarded to the most valuable athlete during the national meet. PDF
Men's Volleyball N/A The selection is made by a committee composed of non-participating U SPORTS coaches. PDF
Women's Volleyball N/A The selection is made by a three-person committee established at the U SPORTS championship. PDF