Canada West's finalists for the conference's 2019-20 Athlete of the Year awards were announced Monday, as the University of Saskatchewan and Trinity Western University took the spotlight.

Saskatchewan Huskies men's hockey goalie Taran Kozun and women's track & field athlete Michelle Harrison are both finalists, while TWU Spartans Eric Loeppky (men's volleyball) and Jenaya Robertson (women's soccer) also cracked the top three.

Rounding out the finalists were Calgary basketball star Brett Layton on the men's side, and Manitoba female swimmer Kelsey Wog.

Canada West's Athletes of the Year, which are selected by the conference's 17 members, will be announced Thursday, May 7 at 10 a.m. MDT. The CW winners will move forward as nominees for the national awards, as U SPORTS hands out the Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards on June 25. 

Read More