Women’s Hockey News

Hockey Canada announced Wednesday the 28 players chosen to centralize in Calgary with Canada’s National Women’s Team for the 2021-22 season, leading up to the 2022 Olympic Winter Games, Feb. 4-20 in Beijing, China.

The 28-player roster includes three goaltenders, nine defencemen and 16 forwards. It features 17 players who centralized ahead of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, including 14 who earned a silver medal in PyeongChang, South Korea. 

The roster was selected by head coach Troy Ryan (Spryfield, N.S.), in consultation with Gina Kingsbury (Rouyn-Noranda, Que.), director of women’s national teams with Hockey Canada, and included support from assistant coaches Kori Cheverie (New Glasgow, N.S./Ryerson University, OUA)Doug Derraugh (Arnprior, Ont./Cornell University, ECAC) and goaltending coach Brad Kirkwood (Calgary, Alta./University of Calgary, CW).

Read More 

Related: Former St. Thomas bench boss Troy Ryan to lead Canada’s women’s Olympic team in Beijing