Men’s Track & Field News

U SPORTS proudly announced Monday the Atlantic University Sport (AUS) finalists for the 2023 Lois and Doug Mitchell U SPORTS Athletes of the Year Awards on May 24 at the McDougall Centre in Calgary.

The AUS male and female Athlete of the Year nominees are Andrew Peverill (Saint Mary’s, men’s cross country and track & field) and Kendra Woodland (UNB, women’s hockey).

The remaining six nominees will be unveiled this week with Canada West on Tuesday, the Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) on Wednesday and Ontario University Athletics (OUA) on Thursday. 

AUS_2023_AOTY_Nominees.png (307 KB)

AUS Nominees

This year's event pays homage to the 30 years of the Awards (formerly known as the Howard Mackie Awards, BLG Awards and Lieutenant Governor Awards) and will also celebrate the life of the program's founder, Doug Mitchell, who passed away last July at 83.  

The winners of the Lois and Doug Mitchell Awards will be selected in a secret ballot vote on May 23 by the Trustees of the Canadian Athletic Foundation, a not-for-profit board founded 31 years ago by Doug Mitchell. The winners will be unveiled the following evening during a reception at McDougall Centre. 

All eight (8) nominees will be in attendance in Calgary, with media availability occurring on May 24

Media wishing to attend the awards ceremony or who would like to request an interview can submit an accreditation and interview request by clicking here